Maryland Works 5th Annual Employment Awards


Maryland Works, Inc., held the 5th Annual Employment Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, December 12, 2012 at The Marriott BWI Airport Hotel. The Employment Awards honors individuals that have achieved their career goals regardless of having a disability, workforce professionals who have made a significant contribution in the employment of people with disabilities, transition teachers, employers, public policy champions, and community service providers that advocate and expand skills training and employment opportunities for people with disabilities or other barriers to employment. 


Prior to the Employment Awards Luncheon there was a special morning presentation "The State of the State on Employment of People with Disabilities" where a panel represented by the Maryland Department of Disabilities (MDOD), Development Disabilities Administration (DDA),  Mental Hygiene Administration (MHA), Division of Rehabilitation Services (DORS) and the Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (DLLR) addressed the current state and national status of employment for people with disabilities as well as best practices and future initiatives to increase employment for people with disabilities.


More than 200 attendees were moved by the keynote address of The Honorable Thomas E. Perez, United States Assistant Attorney General for the Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division as well as an address from The Honorable Catherine A. Raggio, Secretary of the Maryland Department of Disabilities.


The Employment Awards were presented by Pamela Kumar, Chairperson, Maryland Works Board of Directors; Suzanne Page, Assistant Superintendent, Division of Rehabilitation Services; The Honorable Catherine A. Raggio, Secretary, Maryland Department of Disabilities, and; Bob Hofmann, President & CEO, Maryland Works, Inc. The program's Master of Ceremonies was Kathy Snyder, President and CEO, Maryland Chamber Commerce.


Awards were presented to the following individuals: 

Employee of the Year
Wolf Dunaway

Workforce Professional of the Year
Melanie Hood-Wilson, Community College of Baltimore County


Employer of the Year
SIMS Recycling

Provider of the Year
Penn-Mar Human Services

Business Owner of the Year

Nancy Trimble-Oliver, Staff Quest


Transition Teacher of the Year

Lisa Sincock, Baltimore County Public Schools

Public Policy Champion of the Year
Delegate Talmadge Branch


Public Policy Champion of the Year
Delegate Peter A. Hammen

Sponsors for the event include: Gold – Baltimore/Washington Chamber of Commerce, The Chimes, Inc., M&T Bank; Silver – The Arc Baltimore, Developmental Disabilities Administration, Humanim, Inc., The League for People with Disabilities, St. Peter's Adult Learning Center; Bronze – Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, Division of Rehabilitation Services; Maryland Department of Disabilities, The Rock Creek Foundation

Stories you Need to Know

It's on us. Share your news here.

Submit your stories and articles to citybizlist today.

Baltimore Business Spotlight

Feature Your Business Here

Connect with these Baltimore Professionals on LinkedIn

  • Edwin Warfield

    Editor in Chief, Warfield Digital

  • Jean Halle

    Independent Consultant

  • Larry Lichtenauer

    President of Lawrence Howard & Associates

  • Newt Fowler

    Partner at Womble Carlyle, LLP

  • David Crowley

    Owner at Develop DC

  • Carolyn Stinson

    Stinson Marketing Group