The Center Club Elects Patricia J. Mitchell as Board President


The Center Club, Baltimore’s premier private business dining club, is proud to announce that Patricia J. Mitchell has been elected as the Club’s new president of the Board of Governors. Mitchell is the second woman president in The Center Club’s history.

Mitchell worked for IBM for over 30 years and retired as its vice president of global sales operations. A highly regarded corporate and non-profit director, Mitchell remains incredibly active in Baltimore’s business and civic community and currently serves on the board of directors of KCI Technologies, Inc., on the SunTrust Maryland Advisory Board, and is chair of the board of the Greater Baltimore Medical Center.

As stated by Mitchell, “I am honored to have been elected by my board colleagues to take The Center Club into the next chapter in its history. The Center Club has a long legacy of diversity, inclusivity and excellence and I am excited to serve Baltimore’s business and civic community as the Club’s president. We look forward to The Center Club continuing to help to create an even better Baltimore.”

The Center Club has also elected the following officers of the Board of Governors:

  • Calvin Butler, Jr., CEO of Baltimore Gas & Electric Company, as First Vice President.
  • Mark Deering, senior vice president/partner at MacKenzie Commercial Real Estate Services, as Secretary
  • Bonnie Phipps, senior consultant at Yaffe and Company, as Treasurer

The Center Club Board of Governors also elected six new board members:

Anirban Basu, chairman and CEO of Sage Policy Group, Inc

Bradley Chambers, president of Union Memorial Hospital and Good Samaritan Hospital and senior vice president of MedStar Health

Kirby Fowler, president of the Downtown Partnership of Baltimore

Rachel Monroe, president and CEO of The Harry & Jeanette Weinberg Foundation

Shelonda Stokes, president and CEO of greiBO Media

Stacey Ullrich, head of Global Philanthropy at Under Armour

Joey Price, founder and CEO of JumpStart-HR, has also joined the board of governors as an ex officio member in his role as the Young Member Committee chair. 

New board members join current members Denise G. Adah, Louis Angelos, Christine Aspell, Frank C. Bonaventure, Scott Burger, August Chiasera, Michael Cryor, Mark Deering, John H. Denick, Guy E. Flynn, John B. Frisch, Donald C. Fry, Jason L. Groves, Donald Hutchinson, Alvin D. Katz, Lawrence A. LaMotte, Keith Lee, Julia Marciari-Alexander, David Nevins (immediate past president), Ronald R. Peterson, Bonnie L. Phipps, Timothy Regan, Howard Rosen, Thomas Schweizer, Jr., Mary Pat Seurkamp, Gregory Tucker, and Mark R. Weigman.

The Center Club was established by a group of Baltimore business and community leaders in 1962, the same year as the completion of the first building in the then new Charles Center. The mission of the Center Club was to provide a private dining and meeting place that exemplified the spirit, revitalization and growth taking place in downtown Baltimore. At a time when country clubs and business dining clubs were exclusive, The Center Club was the first of its kind to open its doors to members, regardless of race, gender and religion. That spirit is alive today, providing the business and civic community with a facility that offers the highest quality dining and service in a congenial atmosphere. Serving 2,000 members, The Center Club now occupies the 15th and 16th floors of 100 Light Street, and offers members private meeting rooms, numerous special events and reciprocal privileges with 95 private clubs in major cities worldwide. 

It's on us. Share your news here.

Submit your stories and articles to citybizlist today.

Baltimore Business Spotlight

Feature Your Business Here

Connect with these Baltimore Professionals on LinkedIn

  • Edwin Warfield

    Editor in Chief, Warfield Digital

  • Jean Halle

    Independent Consultant

  • Larry Lichtenauer

    President of Lawrence Howard & Associates

  • Newt Fowler

    Partner at Womble Carlyle, LLP

  • David Crowley

    Owner at Develop DC

  • Carolyn Stinson

    Stinson Marketing Group